» Follow us Facebook Flickr Dailymotion

Clerco - edition 2012 (1) ©Clermont Communauté - Ludovic Combe

Clermont Auvergne Métropole is a grouping of 21 communes

Aubière, Aulnat, Beaumont, Blanzat, Cébazat, Le Cendre, Ceyrat, Chamalières, Châteaugay, Clermont-Ferrand, Cournon, Durtol, Gerzat, Lempdes, Nohanent, Orcines, Pérignat-lès-Sarliève, Pont-du-Château, Romagnat, Royat, Saint-Genès-Champanelle.

The Conurbation Community covers an area of 30,330 hectares, and is home to 286,900 inhabitants, in other words almost half the department’s population. This region has a history going back more than 2,000 years, with an archaeological past attested to by numerous Gallo-Roman sites, including the Gergovie Plateau and the site of Côtes, but also its ancient centres boasting medieval and Renaissance architecture, small towns like Aubière and Châteaugay noted for their wine making past, not to mention its contemporary heritage, with civil architecture and monumental sculptures.

Clermont Auvergne Métropole, where part of the Parc des Volcans is being developed (puy de Dôme, puy du Pariou, puy de la Vache and puy de Lassolas), and close to Vulcania, the European Volcanism Park, is known for its verdant landscape. Its beautiful natural surroundings, around the Puy de Dôme, along the Artière valley, are perfect for lovely walks and rambles, and its parks and gardens invite you to linger. The Allier, the Tiretaine and the waterways of Cournon-d’Auvergne are the ideal spot for fishing and water sports like canoeing and kayaking.

Important cultural and sporting events complement a high quality year-round program: The International Short Film Festival, Vidéoformes (new media and video festival), On Connaît la Chanson (music festival), the Transvolcanique (mountain biking race), the Rendez-vous du carnet de voyage (travel writing festival) and the Puy de Mômes Festival (a festival for children).
Discover the riches of this region on the Clermont Auvergne Métropole website, www.clermontmetropole.eu.